• Adriana Varela, the tango made in Latin America

     

        Tango is one of my favorite rhythms, whether it is the original tango or the milonga born in Latin America (with accordion).

         So, let me introduce Adriana Varela. She is an Argentinean tango singer who was born in Avellaneda (Argentina)…

     

        She is one of the last female singers with a grave voice; this makes her style really original. Her songs can be heard for instance in Tango, a film by the Spanish director Carlos Saura (I’ll present the film in another article because I find it awesome ).

     

        Adriana Varela has a peculiar way of living the tango – not only to sing it, but also to express it. A very good point when we learn that the tango isn’t supposed to be sung (understand "to be shouted" as so many singers do) but to be “said”

     

        Let me add songs of hers that I do appreciate to give you an idea 

     

       I start with “Me gustas cuando callas”. This was originally a poem by Pablo Neruda, which has been adapted in a tango. I’ll present the poet in another article.

     

     

        Now, “Quién hubiera dicho”, you can hear this song at the beginning of Tango (Carlos Saura).

     

     

        Then, “De la canilla”, preceded by a short explanation by Adriana Varela (she talks about her meeting with Jaime Ross, a famous Uruguayan musician).

     

     

        “Los mareados”, what a rhythm…

     

     

        To finish the article, I offer a compilation of three songs I like equally “Quién hubiera dicho”, “Silbando” and “Absurdo”.

     

     

    Long live tango

    W.P

    « Fanswa Ladrezeau ou le Gwo ka transcendentalTracy Chapman, una voz, un estilo, un alma magnificos... »

    Tags Tags : , , , ,
  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :